Friday 20th October – The morning was spent completing a group presentation for my Race Science Class and then heading to North Spine to “Soup Spoon” cafe for some lunch. Anjelica and I are trying to both sort out diets out at the moment as we have both found it really difficult to eat healthy out here so we figured going for soup for lunch would be a good start. And it was! I chose the pumpkin soup and it was so so good! To be honest, that day though I had a very anxious and stressful day thinking about my body and body image. I have always struggled with this and social media definitely does not help, but I think since coming out to Singapore I have struggled even more because firstly the majority of the population are very petite and slim and as a 6ft curvy gal this is a little demoralising. Secondly healthy food is very difficult to find on campus and off campus its very pricey which is difficult for something who eats very healthily back home! So that has been very difficult. I went to the gym in the afternoon and tried out a YouTube blogger channel called “Blogilates” which I found very good and I was sweating a lot afterwards so that must be good! In the evening I went with my friend Kat to an exchanger event at the Information and Communications School (Wee Kim Wee) on campus. It was a little strange the evening consisted of games, an open mic stage and food (obviously!). It was fun nonetheless and I met a few more people so that was great.

22834272_1525608434151412_518645134_n

Saturday 21st October- A VERY BORING WEEKEND AHEAD DON’T JUDGE. I worked all day. All my deadlines were in the coming week so I was boring and nerdy all weekend. One thing that was good though was the GEM Club exchanger event in the evening which was a Food Trail across Singapore. We were divided into two groups and sent to two districts of Singapore to try some of the traditional foods of the nation. We went to an Indian Prata cafe and a Dim Sum cafe both of which were very tasty, I definitely filled my boots, here’s to a healthy diet eh?

22539984_2033693606863636_8321151080825752204_n22550049_2033693763530287_5315671328409250284_n22554880_2033693343530329_3493462538864263809_n

Sunday 22nd October – Again I worked all day. But let’s be honest, with two presentations, a joint term paper, a 3,500 essay and a essay abstract all due in the coming week what do you expect? Let’s just say being at the top university in Asia certainly has its demands! In the evening I headed to Jurong Point shopping centre to try and find a supermarket where I could buy food to cook myself, as the food in the shops on campus are pretty pricey, think of RGS at Warwick, similar situ. I managed to get myself a frying pan, some utensils, eggs, bread, sweet potato, tuna, green tea and some DIGESTIVE BISCUITS, how I have missed you! So overall pretty good the only issue was when I got the frying pan home I realised it wasn’t the right type for the induction cooker in the pantry of my hall. Damn, all I want to make was some scrambled eggs, is that asking too much?

Monday 23rd October – I had my Gender History seminar in the morning then went for lunch with Eik Kar, Rosie and Adriaan at South Spine. I spent the afternoon studying and getting on my essays and assignments in the Hive then met my friend and classmate Garance to discuss our term paper for our Sociology class and get some dinner. Afterwards I went to my Acapella practice, which was pretty long as we have a performance coming up on Thursday, but enjoyable nonetheless. Afterwards I went down to the study room to do some more work and reading with my flatmate Sandy.

Tuesday 24th October – Again I spent most of the day working (this is a very exciting blog!), I met Anjelica for lunch at Soup Spoon again and went to my Film Screening Lecture, where to be honest I did more work on my history essay than paid any attention to the film being shown, whoops. I went to water polo training in the evening, which was one of the hardest sessions I have done in a while but god did it feel good afterwards. Again I spent a lot of the late evening at Acapella practice, I was exhausted by the end of the day. Oh, also I managed to find someone selling a pan, randomly, that actually works on the cookers so I managed to cook eggs! OMG they were amazing, I miss freshly cooked eggs on toast.

Wednesday 25th October – I woke up pretty late as I struggled to sleep the night before due to stress and anxiety, fun. Again I spent the morning working then headed to the Humanities Building to meet my group for my film presentation, it is actually ridiculous how many presentations we do out here! I got a quick lunch at South Spine afterwards then headed to the Hive for my Sociology class. First assignment of the week handed in and individual presentation complete, it was a productive day. I met Anjelica at North Spine for dinner then headed back to my halls and managed to fit in a Skype call to both Jess and Anna so that is always lovely. I cannot wait to go back to Wales and Warwick during New Year for two weeks. ALSO big news I forgot to mention, my amazing friend from Warwick, Jollie, is coming to Singapore on the 8th of December and I CANNOT wait! Even better than that we are going to VIETNAM for 11 days on a tour from the North to the South of the country which I know is going to be incredible!

Thursday 26th October  – Today began very well, I was supposed to meet my friend Nina at 8 am to go for a swim but I slept through my alarm and woke up at 8.45 am. Great start! After doing work in the morning I went to the Information and Communications School to met my two classmates from my film module to run through our class presentation, another presentation I know. After my film class I headed back to my halls then went over to Hall 6 to do a sound check for our performance at the Halloween event this evening. It was a little stressful but we got there eventually and hopefully that goes well tonight!

22811289_1525608437484745_1374246464_n

I know it has been a pretty busy and boring week for me with LOADS of work but I’m slowly getting through it all and looking forward to my next trip to Thailand next weekend!

Love

Danni xx

Leave a comment

Trending